ORelay vs AnyDesk
AnyDesk is a fast, light remote desktop client with a free version for private use and business licences sold by concurrent connection and managed device, with session recording, an address book and mobile apps.
AnyDesk is a very good screen: quick, small, and happy on a slow link. It is only a screen, though. ORelay adds what you need once the computer is yours to look after: health readings, alerts, a terminal, scheduled tasks and the software list, on the phone as well as in the browser, with a free plan that allows commercial use.


Side by side
AnyDesk’s column is what its own pages said on October 28, 2026; the sources are at the end.
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Free use | Yes: Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, personal or commercial | Partly: Free for private, non-professional use only; a use pattern that looks professional gets the “commercial use” notice |
| Cheapest paid plan | Yes: Pro, $20 a month: 3 people and 50 computers included | Yes: Solo, $28.90 a month billed annually: 1 user, 1 session at a time, at most 100 managed devices |
| A plan for a small team | Yes: Pro, $20 a month: 3 people and 50 computers included; MSP, $150 a month: 10 people, unlimited computers | Yes: Standard, $49.90 a month billed annually, for 1 session at a time; each further one $44.90; accounts for at most 20 users; at most 500 managed devices |
| Computers it reaches | Yes: Windows, Mac, Linux | Yes: Windows, Mac, Linux, and more |
| From a phone | Yes: Android and iPhone apps: see the screen and take control | Yes: Android and iOS apps |
| From a browser | Yes: Yes, any browser, nothing to install on your side | Partly: Mostly the installed client |
| Unattended access | Yes: Yes: the agent connects out, and stays connected | Yes: Yes, within the plan’s managed-device count |
| Files | Yes: Browse, upload, download, send from your phone | Yes: File transfer, and a File Manager session without the desktop |
| Terminal | Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output | Partly: A remote shell to Linux computers only; nothing for Windows or Mac |
| Health readings and alerts | Yes: Processor, memory, disk, network; alerts by e-mail, webhook, ntfy or app | No: Not on its pages |
| Scheduled tasks, software inventory | Yes: Scheduled tasks; software inventory with CSV export | No: Not on its pages |
| Session recording | Partly: No: the screen is never recorded | Yes: Yes, on paid plans |
| Nothing opens on the computer | Yes: Nothing opens on the computer: it only connects out | Yes: Outbound too |
| Self-hosted option | No: No: ORelay runs the service | Partly: On-premises on the Ultimate plan |
| Open source | No: No | No: No |
Show the full comparison53 rows in 10 groups: signing in, people and permissions, directory, the screen, beyond the screen, files, monitoring, deployment, security, business
Both columns were last checked on October 28, 2026: AnyDesk’s is what its own pages say, 38 of 53 rows answered there and the rest marked “not stated on its pages” rather than guessed. Each of its answers carries a footnote to the page it was read from, with the sentence as its tooltip.
Signing in
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Single sign-on (SAML or OIDC) | No: No SAML or OIDC yet | Partly: OpenID Connect single sign-on on the Ultimate (Cloud) plan; SAML is not named1 |
| Sign in with Google, Microsoft, Apple or GitHub | Yes: Yes: Google, Apple, Microsoft and GitHub, once added under Account | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Two-step sign-in with an authenticator app | Yes: Yes, with recovery codes | Yes: Time-based one-time passwords for connections and the my.anydesk account; authenticator app2 |
| Passkeys | Yes: Yes, on the web and in the apps | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Require the company sign-in | Partly: With Microsoft Entra ID only; MSP and Enterprise | Partly: Ultimate (Cloud) users sign in by SSO with the organization ID; a switch that forces it is not stated3 |
People and permissions
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Roles | Yes: Yes: owner, admin, support and viewer; admin, support or viewer on a single computer | Yes: Admin, DPO, Tech support and User roles on Advanced; custom roles on Ultimate-Cloud only4 |
| Access per computer or group | Yes: Yes, per computer or by group; support and viewers see only what they are given | Partly: Each computer can limit which IDs connect (access list); per-user grants on computers not stated5 |
| Access that expires by itself | Yes: Yes: a day, a week, a month or always; share codes expire | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Share one computer with someone outside | Yes: Yes, with a share code made at the computer, which stays in its owner’s account | Partly: Anyone given the AnyDesk ID and unattended password can connect; sharing by named outside account not stated6 |
| Several organizations under one login | Yes: Yes, each with its own database | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Audit log | Yes: Yes: every session, command, file, power and settings change, with who did it | Partly: Session logs in my.anydesk; log of admin changes (who, what, when) on Ultimate-Cloud only2 |
Directory
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Active Directory | Partly: Read-only: users, computers and groups through a domain controller you allow; MSP and Enterprise | Partly: Imports users from Active Directory over LDAP on Ultimate-Cloud; no computer listing stated7 |
| Microsoft Entra ID sync | No: No: Entra ID is used for sign-in only | Partly: Users from an OpenID Connect provider (Azure AD as example) are synchronized; Ultimate-Cloud only8 |
| LDAP | No: No | Partly: LDAP sign-in and role import with periodic sync, Ultimate-Cloud license only7 |
The screen
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Multiple monitors | Yes: Yes: switch between monitors in the session | Yes: Switch between the remote monitors from the toolbar; several at once by opening more connections9 |
| Ctrl+Alt+Del | Yes: Yes, on Windows | Yes: A hotkey sends Ctrl+Alt+Del to the remote device; Windows only10 |
| The Windows sign-in screen | Yes: Yes, with nobody signed in | Yes: Unattended access connects before sign-in or when the system is locked6 |
| Clipboard | Partly: Text pasted into the computer through a box; no two-way clipboard | Yes: A session permission synchronizes clipboards; text or files can also be sent from the local clipboard11 |
| Remote printing | No: No | Yes: Remote printing is included in paid licenses; not in the free version12 |
| Session recording | No: No, by design: the screen is never stored | Yes: Session recording is listed from Standard up; started automatically or from the toolbar4 |
| Sessions start view-only | Yes: Yes: taking control is a separate, logged step | Partly: Default profile allows control; a Screen Sharing profile is view-only and can be chosen13 |
| The person at the computer can switch it off | Yes: Yes: the ORelay window on the computer shows what remote users may do, and any of it can be switched off | Yes: An Accept Window appears by default and permission profiles are set at the remote computer14 |
| Blank the physical screen | Yes: Yes, on Windows and Mac; the blanked screen says who is connected | Yes: Privacy mode hides the remote screen; both ends must allow it15 |
Beyond the screen
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Terminal, or one command with its output | Yes: Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output, in the browser and the apps | Partly: Remote Shell opens a terminal on Linux devices only (AnyDesk 8.0.0 or later, display server needed)16 |
| Scripts across many computers | Partly: Quick fixes run on one computer or several at once; no script library yet | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes: Yes: timer or cron, with every run’s output; Pro and above | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Software inventory | Yes: Yes: every installed program, searchable, with a CSV export; refresh on Pro and above | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Patch management | No: No | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Power actions | Yes: Yes: shut down, restart, sleep, hibernate, lock, sign out; now or up to an hour later | Partly: Restart, lock and sign-out of the remote user from the session toolbar; shutdown, sleep and scheduling not stated11 |
| Wake-on-LAN | No: No | Yes: Wake-on-LAN in paid licenses; Windows, Intel Mac and Linux; another AnyDesk device on that network must be online12 |
Files
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Browse folders without a session | Yes: Yes, from the browser and the phone | Yes: A File Manager session runs without the desktop view17 |
| Upload and download | Yes: Yes, from the browser or the phone, over the agent’s own connection | Yes: File transfer and a File Manager to upload and download; File transfer is listed from Standard up4 |
| Files kept in the service | Yes: Yes: copies kept in ORelay per plan; the vault encrypts files into your own Google Drive or OneDrive | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Size limits | Partly: 10 GB per file sent to a computer; stored files 1 GB on Free, 25 GB on Pro, 100 GB on MSP | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
Monitoring
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Processor, memory, disk, network | Yes: Yes, live, and buffered on the computer while the service is unreachable | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Alerts on a reading, or a computer going quiet | Yes: Yes: a reading over a threshold for a duration, or a computer offline; severity, acknowledge, history | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Where alerts go | Yes: Yes: e-mail, webhook (Discord, Slack or JSON), ntfy and the app; no SMS | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Network devices (SNMP) | No: No | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
Deployment
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Silent installers | Yes: Yes: Windows MSI, Mac pkg, Debian and RPM packages | Yes: Windows silent switch and MSI; macOS .pkg installer; Linux .deb and .rpm repositories18 |
| Many computers at once | Yes: Yes: enrolment keys, each computer with its own certificate; Pro and above | Partly: MSI mass deployment and license-key registration by command line on Advanced and up; no enrolment key stated4 |
| Intune, Jamf, Group Policy, Ansible | Yes: Yes: Intune, Configuration Manager, Group Policy, Jamf Pro, Kandji and Ansible kits, made in the browser | Partly: Intune and MDM deployment described, Group Policy on Advanced; Jamf, Configuration Manager, Ansible not named19 |
| The agent updates itself | Yes: Yes, signed updates | Partly: Standard clients can update automatically; custom clients cannot20 |
| Signed installers | Yes: Yes: Windows signed, Mac notarized, Linux packages signed | Partly: Windows client signed by AnyDesk Software GmbH; macOS custom clients notarized only if an option is on21 |
| Linux desktops, including Wayland | Yes: Yes: X11 and Wayland; under GNOME the person at the computer approves the first session | Partly: Linux is supported; under Wayland only outgoing sessions work, incoming need Xorg22 |
Security
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Encryption | Yes: Yes: mutual TLS 1.3 between each computer and the service; HTTPS for the browser and the apps | Yes: TLS 1.3 with 256-bit AES transport encryption and RSA 2048 key exchange; no end-to-end claim made2 |
| The screen never stored, keys never logged | Yes: Yes: the screen is never recorded and what you type is never logged | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA | No: None yet | Partly: Says it complies with GDPR; SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA not stated on pages read23 |
| Where data is held | Partly: United States; no choice of region | Partly: On-Premises keeps data in your own network; region choice for the cloud not stated24 |
Business
| What | ORelay | AnyDesk |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Yes: A flat price per plan: Free, Pro $20, MSP $150, Enterprise $500 a month | Yes: Per connection: Standard $49.90 a month for 1, Advanced $111.90 for 2, Ultimate by quote; billed annually4 |
| Trial or free plan | Yes: Yes: a free plan of 5 computers, with no time limit | Yes: Business trial offered (length not stated); free version for private use only, not for business12 |
| Monthly or annual | Yes: Yes: monthly, or yearly at ten months’ worth; cancel any time | No: All plans are billed yearly; the monthly figure is the annual price divided by twelve4 |
| Support | Yes: Yes: e-mail and phone, by the people who build it | Partly: Tickets and live chat on Standard and up; phone support on Advanced and Ultimate25 |
| API and webhooks | Partly: Webhooks for alerts; the viewers’ REST API is not yet documented for others | Yes: REST API for account data and session history on Standard and above; webhooks not stated26 |
AnyDesk’s pages, as read on October 28, 2026
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/single-sign-on-sso
- https://anydesk.com/en/security
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/sign-in-to-your-account
- https://anydesk.com/en/pricing
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/security-tips
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/unattended-access
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/add-multiple-users-via-ldap
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/add-multiple-users-via-idp
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/how-do-i-work-with-multiple-displays
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/keyboard-hotkeys
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/session-settings
- https://anydesk.com/en/solutions/remote-access
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/setting-up-permission-profiles
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/advanced-options
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/screen-privacy
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/remote-shell
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/file-manager-and-file-transfer
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/command-line-interface-for-linux
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/mobile-device-management-mdm
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/update-anydesk
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/how-do-i-make-sure-i-use-anydesk-with-the-new-certificate
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/supported-operating-systems
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/gdpr-compliance
- https://anydesk.com/en/compare-goto-alternative
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/contact-us
- https://support.anydesk.com/docs/rest-api
anydesk.com answers scripts 403 and those six pages were read in a browser on 2026-10-28; /en/switch and /en/compare-logmein-alternative redirect (to the home page and the GoTo page). Its one comparison page (against GoTo) claims for itself a cheaper pricing model, lower latency, free mobile use, Namespace, custom clients with permissions, an On-Premises option and Linux support.
Where AnyDesk is the better choice
- Raw screen performance on a poor connection; AnyDesk’s codec is its reason to exist.
- Session recording, remote printing and Wake-on-LAN.
- Supporting a stranger’s computer once: they run the small AnyDesk file and read you the number.
- An on-premises edition, on the Ultimate plan.
Where ORelay is the better choice
- Price for a small team: ORelay Pro is $20 a month with 3 people and 50 computers included; AnyDesk Standard is $49.90 for one session at a time, and each further one is $44.90.
- Everything beyond the screen: a terminal on every platform, health readings, alerts, scheduled tasks and the software list, none of which is on AnyDesk’s pages.
- A free plan that allows commercial use, instead of a detector that decides your use looks professional.
- Privacy by design: the screen is never recorded and what you type is never logged; the person at the computer can switch remote access off.
What each costs
ORelay
- Free: $0
- 1 person, 5 computers, no time limit
- Pro: $20 a month, or $200 a year
- 3 people, 50 computers, scheduled tasks, inventory, webhooks, the cloud vault, enrolment keys
- MSP: $150 a month, or $1,500 a year
- 10 people, unlimited computers, Active Directory, company sign-in
Yearly plans are ten months’ worth. Everything is on the pricing page.
AnyDesk, as shown on October 28, 2026
- Solo: $28.90 a month, billed annually
- 1 licensed user, 1 session at a time, 3 devices to connect from, at most 100 managed devices
- Standard: $49.90 a month, billed annually
- 1 session at a time (up to 20, at $44.90 each); accounts for at most 20 users; at most 500 managed devices
- Advanced: $111.90 a month, billed annually
- 2 sessions at a time (up to 50); accounts for at most 100 users; at most 1,000 managed devices; MSI deployment, group policy
- Ultimate: Quote
- From 5 users, 2,000 managed devices, SSO, cloud or on-premises
Prices change; the sources below are the pages to check.
Try ORelay
Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, nothing to open on your network.
Sources
- AnyDesk pricing
- AnyDesk: commercial use detected (free version for private use)
- Read on October 28, 2026. AnyDesk is a trademark of its owner, which has no connection with ORelay Studios LLC.