ORelay vs Atera
Atera is remote monitoring and management with a help desk, billing and an AI copilot, sold per technician with unlimited endpoints, in one set of plans for managed service providers and another for IT departments; its remote control comes through Splashtop, or AnyDesk on the higher plans.
Per-technician pricing is Atera’s pitch: add as many computers as you like for one fee. That fee is $129 a month per technician on the MSP plans and $149 for an IT department, so it pays off once you have a few hundred endpoints and a help desk to run. Below that, ORelay is the smaller number: $20 for 50 computers and 3 people, or $150 for an MSP’s 10 people and unlimited computers. And its screen, terminal and phone app are its own, not another vendor’s.


Side by side
Atera’s column is what its own pages said on October 28, 2026; the sources are at the end.
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Free use | Yes: Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, personal or commercial | No: No free plan; a 30-day trial without API access or SSO |
| Cheapest paid plan | Yes: Pro, $20 a month: 3 people and 50 computers included | Yes: Pro (MSP), $129 a month per technician billed annually, $139 monthly: unlimited endpoints, Windows only |
| A plan for 50 computers | Yes: Pro, $20 a month | Yes: The same $129 per technician: the count does not matter |
| Computers it reaches | Yes: Windows, Mac, Linux | Partly: Windows on Pro; Mac and Linux from Growth ($159) |
| From a phone | Yes: Android and iPhone apps: see the screen and take control | Yes: iOS and Android app |
| From a browser | Yes: Yes, any browser, nothing to install on your side | Yes: Web console |
| Unattended access | Yes: Yes: the agent connects out, and stays connected | Yes: Through Splashtop (2 concurrent sessions on Pro) or AnyDesk from Growth |
| Files | Yes: Browse, upload, download, send from your phone | Partly: File view on Pro; upload and download from Growth, 100 MB a file and 15 GB a month |
| Terminal | Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output | Yes: CMD, PowerShell, Terminal and SSH from the device page, and scripting |
| Health readings and alerts | Yes: Processor, memory, disk, network; alerts by e-mail, webhook, ntfy or app | Yes: Yes: its core, with threshold profiles |
| Scheduled tasks, software inventory | Yes: Scheduled tasks; software inventory with CSV export | Yes: Automation profiles on a schedule; a software inventory report |
| Patch management | No: No: ORelay does not patch | Yes: Yes, on every plan |
| Nothing opens on the computer | Yes: Nothing opens on the computer: it only connects out | Yes: Outbound too |
| Self-hosted option | No: No: ORelay runs the service | No: No (cloud service) |
| Open source | No: No | No: No |
Show the full comparison53 rows in 10 groups: signing in, people and permissions, directory, the screen, beyond the screen, files, monitoring, deployment, security, business
Both columns were last checked on October 28, 2026: Atera’s is what its own pages say, 44 of 53 rows answered there and the rest marked “not stated on its pages” rather than guessed. Each of its answers carries a footnote to the page it was read from, with the sentence as its tooltip.
Signing in
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Single sign-on (SAML or OIDC) | No: No SAML or OIDC yet | Partly: Azure AD or OIDC sign-in for technicians, top plan only (Superpower); SAML not listed there1 |
| Sign in with Google, Microsoft, Apple or GitHub | Yes: Yes: Google, Apple, Microsoft and GitHub, once added under Account | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Two-step sign-in with an authenticator app | Yes: Yes, with recovery codes | Yes: Authenticator-app 2FA, required for every user after the first day and cannot be turned off2 |
| Passkeys | Yes: Yes, on the web and in the apps | Yes: Passkeys on top of 2FA: Windows Hello, Touch ID, Face ID, phone or USB security key3 |
| Require the company sign-in | Partly: With Microsoft Entra ID only; MSP and Enterprise | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
People and permissions
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Roles | Yes: Yes: owner, admin, support and viewer; admin, support or viewer on a single computer | Yes: Preset Admin and view-only Beginner roles, plus unlimited custom roles4 |
| Access per computer or group | Yes: Yes, per computer or by group; support and viewers see only what they are given | Partly: Roles can be limited to customers and to excluded folders; a single computer is not mentioned4 |
| Access that expires by itself | Yes: Yes: a day, a week, a month or always; share codes expire | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Share one computer with someone outside | Yes: Yes, with a share code made at the computer, which stays in its owner’s account | Partly: Work From Home gives a customer's contact a link to reach their own assigned computer (paid add-on, through Splashtop)5 |
| Several organizations under one login | Yes: Yes, each with its own database | Yes: Many customers under one account, with roles that can be limited to chosen customers4 |
| Audit log | Yes: Yes: every session, command, file, power and settings change, with who did it | Yes: Logins, remote sessions, file transfers, scripts and settings; CSV export; kept longer on higher plans6 |
Directory
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Active Directory | Partly: Read-only: users, computers and groups through a domain controller you allow; MSP and Enterprise | Partly: Network Discovery add-on scans a domain through a domain controller to list its devices; no user management stated7 |
| Microsoft Entra ID sync | No: No: Entra ID is used for sign-in only | Yes: One-way sync of contacts from Entra ID; continuous sync on the top plan8 |
| LDAP | No: No | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
The screen
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Multiple monitors | Yes: Yes: switch between monitors in the session | Partly: Yes with AnyDesk (Growth and up) or the Splashtop Premium add-on; standard Splashtop shows one monitor at a time9 |
| Ctrl+Alt+Del | Yes: Yes, on Windows | Yes: A Windows action in the Splashtop and AnyDesk sessions9 |
| The Windows sign-in screen | Yes: Yes, with nobody signed in | Partly: Splashtop's attended-access setting can connect at the login screen; unattended use there is not stated10 |
| Clipboard | Partly: Text pasted into the computer through a box; no two-way clipboard | Partly: Copy and paste is a Splashtop Premium setting (paid add-on); Splashtop SOS shares text; plain Splashtop and AnyDesk not stated10 |
| Remote printing | No: No | Partly: Remote print is in Splashtop Premium, a paid add-on10 |
| Session recording | No: No, by design: the screen is never stored | Partly: AnyDesk has screen recording; Splashtop only with the Premium add-on9 |
| Sessions start view-only | Yes: Yes: taking control is a separate, logged step | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| The person at the computer can switch it off | Yes: Yes: the ORelay window on the computer shows what remote users may do, and any of it can be switched off | Partly: Technician can require the user to accept (AnyDesk on servers is always unattended); no user-side permission switch is stated9 |
| Blank the physical screen | Yes: Yes, on Windows and Mac; the blanked screen says who is connected | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
Beyond the screen
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Terminal, or one command with its output | Yes: Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output, in the browser and the apps | Yes: CMD, PowerShell, Terminal and SSH on devices, by role permission4 |
| Scripts across many computers | Partly: Quick fixes run on one computer or several at once; no script library yet | Yes: Script library and shared script library; PowerShell, BAT and SH, run on one or many devices11 |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes: Yes: timer or cron, with every run’s output; Pro and above | Yes: Automation profiles run scripts, patching and installs on a schedule12 |
| Software inventory | Yes: Yes: every installed program, searchable, with a CSV export; refresh on Pro and above | Yes: Software inventory report: search what is installed on one or more devices13 |
| Patch management | No: No | Yes: Manual and automated patching on Windows, macOS and Linux; an 'Update all via WinGet' option is mentioned11 |
| Power actions | Yes: Yes: shut down, restart, sleep, hibernate, lock, sign out; now or up to an hour later | Partly: Log out, restart and shut down, can be scheduled for later; sleep, hibernate and lock are not stated14 |
| Wake-on-LAN | No: No | Yes: Yes, Windows only, sent by another agent on the same subnet15 |
Files
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Browse folders without a session | Yes: Yes, from the browser and the phone | Yes: Remote file explorer in the device's Manage menu: search, upload, download, rename, delete; Pro plan can view and search only16 |
| Upload and download | Yes: Yes, from the browser or the phone, over the agent’s own connection | Partly: Upload and download on Growth, Power and Superpower; Pro can only view and search; one device at a time, no folders16 |
| Files kept in the service | Yes: Yes: copies kept in ORelay per plan; the vault encrypts files into your own Google Drive or OneDrive | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Size limits | Partly: 10 GB per file sent to a computer; stored files 1 GB on Free, 25 GB on Pro, 100 GB on MSP | Yes: 100 MB per file; transfer cap per account a month: 15 GB Growth, 50 GB Power, 100 GB Superpower16 |
Monitoring
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Processor, memory, disk, network | Yes: Yes, live, and buffered on the computer while the service is unreachable | Partly: Tracks CPU, RAM, disk and temperatures; historical trend dashboards and capacity reports are on higher plans17 |
| Alerts on a reading, or a computer going quiet | Yes: Yes: a reading over a threshold for a duration, or a computer offline; severity, acknowledge, history | Yes: Threshold profiles with Information, Warning and Critical severity, per customer, folder or device18 |
| Where alerts go | Yes: Yes: e-mail, webhook (Discord, Slack or JSON), ntfy and the app; no SMS | Partly: E-mail, mobile app and console sound alerts, and tickets; no built-in SMS; webhooks only on ticket events, top plan18 |
| Network devices (SNMP) | No: No | Yes: SNMP, HTTP, TCP and generic devices, through a designated Windows monitoring agent on the same network17 |
Deployment
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Silent installers | Yes: Yes: Windows MSI, Mac pkg, Debian and RPM packages | Partly: Silent on Windows (MSI as SYSTEM) and macOS (pkg); Linux silent install not stated19 |
| Many computers at once | Yes: Yes: enrolment keys, each computer with its own certificate; Pro and above | Yes: Installer assigned to a customer; roll out with Group Policy, Intune or another tool20 |
| Intune, Jamf, Group Policy, Ansible | Yes: Yes: Intune, Configuration Manager, Group Policy, Jamf Pro, Kandji and Ansible kits, made in the browser | Yes: Group Policy and Intune (Windows) and Jamf or Intune (macOS) are named; Configuration Manager and Ansible are not named19 |
| The agent updates itself | Yes: Yes, signed updates | Yes: Agents update automatically20 |
| Signed installers | Yes: Yes: Windows signed, Mac notarized, Linux packages signed | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Linux desktops, including Wayland | Yes: Yes: X11 and Wayland; under GNOME the person at the computer approves the first session | Partly: Linux desktops can be reached from Windows or Mac on X11; Wayland is not supported9 |
Security
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Encryption | Yes: Yes: mutual TLS 1.3 between each computer and the service; HTTPS for the browser and the apps | Yes: TLS 1.2+ agent to servers; Splashtop sessions TLS and 256-bit AES, called end-to-end in its Work From Home FAQ20 |
| The screen never stored, keys never logged | Yes: Yes: the screen is never recorded and what you type is never logged | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA | No: None yet | Yes: SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 certified; its security page also names HIPAA compliance options21 |
| Where data is held | Partly: United States; no choice of region | Partly: Held in United States and EU data centres, built on Azure; choosing a region is not stated22 |
Business
| What | ORelay | Atera |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Yes: A flat price per plan: Free, Pro $20, MSP $150, Enterprise $500 a month | Yes: Per technician, unlimited endpoints: IT teams $149 to $219 a month, MSPs $129 to $209 a month; monthly or annual billing23 |
| Trial or free plan | Yes: Yes: a free plan of 5 computers, with no time limit | Yes: 30 days, no card; most features, but API access and SSO only after upgrading to a paid plan11 |
| Monthly or annual | Yes: Yes: monthly, or yearly at ten months’ worth; cancel any time | Yes: Monthly plans cancel at any time; annual plans end with the subscription period24 |
| Support | Yes: Yes: e-mail and phone, by the people who build it | Yes: 24/7 chat and e-mail for every customer; phone not stated11 |
| API and webhooks | Partly: Webhooks for alerts; the viewers’ REST API is not yet documented for others | Yes: API with tokens over HTTPS (not in the trial); webhooks on ticket events on the top plan (Superpower)25 |
Atera’s pages, as read on October 28, 2026
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/18666639809436-Enable-single-sign-on-SSO
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/360022522253-Two-factor-authentication-2FA
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/25318116876572-Set-up-a-Passkey
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/218007917-Roles-and-permissions
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/23312365115676-Work-From-Home-FAQ
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/217808448-Analyze-audit-logs
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/10861402601372-Network-Discovery-FAQ
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/4409774509714-Sync-users-and-contacts-from-Microsoft-Entra-ID
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/10811809441564-Remote-access-FAQ
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/115001957308-Splashtop-remote-access
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/10875484776604-Atera-FAQ
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/360018810679-Schedule-an-automation-profile
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/115011963047-Operational-report-Software-inventory
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/215284908-Log-out-restart-and-shut-down-devices
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000560228-Wake-on-LAN
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/360013620380-Live-Manage-File-Transfer
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/11021267033628-Remote-monitoring-FAQ
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/22684848202780-Alerts-FAQ
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/23278505232924-Install-Atera-s-macOS-Agent
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/10799709643804-Atera-agent-FAQ
- https://www.atera.com/products/rmm/
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/26232309357980-Robin-Security-Compliance-FAQ
- https://www.atera.com/blog/atera-vs-ninjaone/
- https://www.atera.com/msp-pricing/
- https://support.atera.com/hc/en-us/articles/219083397-Using-the-Atera-API
www.atera.com answers scripts 403, so its five pages (/it-department-pricing/, /msp-pricing/, /blog/atera-vs-ninjaone/, /features/, /products/rmm/) were read in a browser on 2026-10-28 and served from the script's cache; /pricing/ redirects to /it-department-pricing/ and /security/ to /ai/security/. The plan cards' prices are drawn by script and are not in the page text, so prices come from Atera's comparison post. Atera's own post claims for itself: transparent pay-per-technician pricing from $129 a month, unlimited endpoints, a 30-day free trial, 24/7 chat and e-mail support, and agentic AI. trust.atera.com renders by script and showed no text. Remote desktop is other products' (Splashtop and AnyDesk built in, TeamViewer and ScreenConnect by integration), so screen rows say which one. Several rows depend on a plan (Growth/Power/Superpower for AnyDesk, file transfer and SSO), or on the Splashtop Premium and Network Discovery add-ons.
Where Atera is the better choice
- Unlimited endpoints per technician: past a few hundred computers the price stops growing.
- The help desk, ticketing, contracts and invoicing an MSP runs its business on, in the same product.
- Patching, automation profiles and the AI copilot for a technician’s day.
- A 30-day trial of a full plan.
Where ORelay is the better choice
- Price for a small team: $20 a month for 50 computers and 3 people, where Atera starts at $129 for one technician.
- An MSP plan with 10 people and unlimited computers for $150 a month, against $129 per technician.
- The screen, terminal and files are ORelay’s own, with the phone app part of the product, rather than Splashtop or AnyDesk under another console.
- Mac and Linux on every plan, and a free plan for 5 computers.
What each costs
ORelay
- Free: $0
- 1 person, 5 computers, no time limit
- Pro: $20 a month, or $200 a year
- 3 people, 50 computers, scheduled tasks, inventory, webhooks, the cloud vault, enrolment keys
- MSP: $150 a month, or $1,500 a year
- 10 people, unlimited computers, Active Directory, company sign-in
Yearly plans are ten months’ worth. Everything is on the pricing page.
Atera, as shown on October 28, 2026
- Pro (MSP): $129 a month per technician, billed annually ($139 monthly)
- Unlimited endpoints, Windows; monitoring, patching, Splashtop with 2 concurrent sessions, help desk, contracts and invoicing, mobile app
- Growth (MSP): $159 a month per technician, billed annually ($189 monthly)
- Mac and Linux, unlimited Splashtop sessions, AnyDesk, file transfer 15 GB a month, QuickBooks and Xero
- Power (MSP): $209 a month per technician, billed annually ($249 monthly)
- Custom reports, file transfer 50 GB a month, 12-month audit log
- IT departments: $149, $189 and $219 a month per technician, billed annually
- Professional, Expert and Master: the same shape with a service portal instead of invoicing; Mac and Linux on every plan
- Add-ons: Network Discovery $29 a month per technician; Work from Home $5 a month per end user
- Security, backup and MDM from partners at per-device prices on top
Prices change; the sources below are the pages to check.
Try ORelay
Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, nothing to open on your network.
Sources
- Atera pricing for MSPs
- Atera pricing for IT departments
- Read on October 28, 2026. Atera is a trademark of its owner, which has no connection with ORelay Studios LLC.