Compare

ORelay vs Chrome Remote Desktop

Chrome Remote Desktop is Google’s free remote desktop: install its host on a Windows, Mac or Linux computer, sign in with a Google account, and reach the computer from Chrome or the phone app with a PIN; or share your screen once with a one-time code.

For driving one of your own computers now and then, at no cost, Chrome Remote Desktop is hard to beat, and ORelay is not trying to. ORelay is for when the screen is not enough: you want to know the computer is up before you connect, hear when its disk fills, run a fix without opening the desktop, and keep several computers, and who may reach them, in order. Its free plan covers 5 computers, so for a family or a small office the price is the same.

The ORelay dashboard: six computers in two groups with their status, processor and memory, the latest alerts and activity.

Side by side

Chrome Remote Desktop’s column is what its own pages said on October 28, 2026; the sources are at the end.

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Free useYes: Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, personal or commercialYes: Free for everyone, personal or commercial, with a Google account
Cheapest paid planYes: Pro, $20 a month: 3 people and 50 computers includedPartly: There is none: no paid tier, no business plan, no support line
Computers it reachesYes: Windows, Mac, LinuxYes: Windows, Mac, Linux
From a phoneYes: Android and iPhone apps: see the screen and take controlYes: Android and iOS apps: see the screen and control it
From a browserYes: Yes, any browser, nothing to install on your sideYes: Yes, at remotedesktop.google.com
Unattended accessYes: Yes: the agent connects out, and stays connectedYes: Yes, with a PIN set on the computer
FilesYes: Browse, upload, download, send from your phonePartly: Google’s pages describe file transfer only on managed ChromeOS kiosk devices; the web client’s file panel is not described
TerminalYes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its outputNo: None on Google’s pages
Health readings and alertsYes: Processor, memory, disk, network; alerts by e-mail, webhook, ntfy or appNo: None: the list shows a computer as offline, and nothing more
Scheduled tasks, software inventoryYes: Scheduled tasks; software inventory with CSV exportNo: None on Google’s pages
More than one personYes: Organizations with owner, admin, support and viewer roles; share one computer with a codePartly: One Google account per computer; share a session with a one-time code
Nothing opens on the computerYes: Nothing opens on the computer: it only connects outYes: Outbound too, through Google
Self-hosted optionNo: No: ORelay runs the serviceNo: No: the service is Google’s
Open sourceNo: NoPartly: The client code is in Chromium; the service is not
Show the full comparison53 rows in 10 groups: signing in, people and permissions, directory, the screen, beyond the screen, files, monitoring, deployment, security, business

Both columns were last checked on October 28, 2026: Chrome Remote Desktop’s is what its own pages say, 15 of 53 rows answered there and the rest marked “not stated on its pages” rather than guessed. Each of its answers carries a footnote to the page it was read from, with the sentence as its tooltip.

Signing in

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Single sign-on (SAML or OIDC)No: No SAML or OIDC yetPartly: Not stated on its pages
Sign in with Google, Microsoft, Apple or GitHubYes: Yes: Google, Apple, Microsoft and GitHub, once added under AccountPartly: Sign-in is with a Google Account only; no Microsoft, Apple or GitHub sign-in is described1
Two-step sign-in with an authenticator appYes: Yes, with recovery codesPartly: Admin policy turns on two-factor for hosts in place of the PIN; the method (authenticator app) is not stated2
PasskeysYes: Yes, on the web and in the appsPartly: Not stated on its pages
Require the company sign-inPartly: With Microsoft Entra ID only; MSP and EnterprisePartly: Admin policy requires hosts to be registered with a given domain name; not a company identity provider3

People and permissions

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
RolesYes: Yes: owner, admin, support and viewer; admin, support or viewer on a single computerPartly: ChromeOS devices in the Admin console only: delegated admins may connect but not change device details4
Access per computer or groupYes: Yes, per computer or by group; support and viewers see only what they are givenPartly: Admin settings for ChromeOS devices apply per organizational unit; not described for Windows, Mac or Linux hosts4
Access that expires by itselfYes: Yes: a day, a week, a month or always; share codes expirePartly: A support access code works once and sharing is re-confirmed every 30 minutes; no expiring access for a computer5
Share one computer with someone outsideYes: Yes, with a share code made at the computer, which stays in its owner’s accountYes: Share your screen with anyone by sending a one-time access code; they get full access5
Several organizations under one loginYes: Yes, each with its own databasePartly: Not stated on its pages
Audit logYes: Yes: every session, command, file, power and settings change, with who did itPartly: Admin audit log for remote sessions on ChromeOS devices only; not described for Windows, Mac or Linux4

Directory

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Active DirectoryPartly: Read-only: users, computers and groups through a domain controller you allow; MSP and EnterprisePartly: Not stated on its pages
Microsoft Entra ID syncNo: No: Entra ID is used for sign-in onlyPartly: Not stated on its pages
LDAPNo: NoPartly: Not stated on its pages

The screen

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Multiple monitorsYes: Yes: switch between monitors in the sessionPartly: Not stated on its pages
Ctrl+Alt+DelYes: Yes, on WindowsPartly: Not stated on its pages
The Windows sign-in screenYes: Yes, with nobody signed inPartly: Not stated on its pages
ClipboardPartly: Text pasted into the computer through a box; no two-way clipboardYes: Clipboard synchronization between client and host exists; an admin policy sets its maximum size6
Remote printingNo: NoPartly: Not stated on its pages
Session recordingNo: No, by design: the screen is never storedPartly: Not stated on its pages
Sessions start view-onlyYes: Yes: taking control is a separate, logged stepPartly: Not stated on its pages
Blank the physical screenYes: Yes, on Windows and Mac; the blanked screen says who is connectedPartly: Admin policy "curtain mode" hides the screen from someone at the host; Windows Professional, Ultimate, Enterprise or Server only1

Beyond the screen

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Terminal, or one command with its outputYes: Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output, in the browser and the appsPartly: Not stated on its pages
Scripts across many computersPartly: Quick fixes run on one computer or several at once; no script library yetPartly: Not stated on its pages
Scheduled tasksYes: Yes: timer or cron, with every run’s output; Pro and abovePartly: Not stated on its pages
Software inventoryYes: Yes: every installed program, searchable, with a CSV export; refresh on Pro and abovePartly: Not stated on its pages
Patch managementNo: NoPartly: Not stated on its pages
Power actionsYes: Yes: shut down, restart, sleep, hibernate, lock, sign out; now or up to an hour laterPartly: Not stated on its pages
Wake-on-LANNo: NoPartly: Not stated on its pages

Files

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Browse folders without a sessionYes: Yes, from the browser and the phonePartly: Not stated on its pages
Upload and downloadYes: Yes, from the browser or the phone, over the agent’s own connectionPartly: ChromeOS kiosk devices only, switched on by an admin; a host policy for file transfer exists, its reach is not described4
Files kept in the serviceYes: Yes: copies kept in ORelay per plan; the vault encrypts files into your own Google Drive or OneDrivePartly: Not stated on its pages
Size limitsPartly: 10 GB per file sent to a computer; stored files 1 GB on Free, 25 GB on Pro, 100 GB on MSPPartly: Not stated on its pages

Monitoring

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Processor, memory, disk, networkYes: Yes, live, and buffered on the computer while the service is unreachablePartly: Not stated on its pages
Alerts on a reading, or a computer going quietYes: Yes: a reading over a threshold for a duration, or a computer offline; severity, acknowledge, historyPartly: Not stated on its pages
Where alerts goYes: Yes: e-mail, webhook (Discord, Slack or JSON), ntfy and the app; no SMSPartly: Not stated on its pages
Network devices (SNMP)No: NoPartly: Not stated on its pages

Deployment

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Silent installersYes: Yes: Windows MSI, Mac pkg, Debian and RPM packagesPartly: Not stated on its pages
Many computers at onceYes: Yes: enrolment keys, each computer with its own certificate; Pro and abovePartly: Not stated on its pages
Intune, Jamf, Group Policy, AnsibleYes: Yes: Intune, Configuration Manager, Group Policy, Jamf Pro, Kandji and Ansible kits, made in the browserPartly: Not stated on its pages
The agent updates itselfYes: Yes, signed updatesPartly: Not stated on its pages
Signed installersYes: Yes: Windows signed, Mac notarized, Linux packages signedPartly: Not stated on its pages
Linux desktops, including WaylandYes: Yes: X11 and Wayland; under GNOME the person at the computer approves the first sessionPartly: Linux host supported through a 64-bit Debian package; Wayland is not mentioned5

Security

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
EncryptionYes: Yes: mutual TLS 1.3 between each computer and the service; HTTPS for the browser and the appsPartly: Sessions are stated as fully encrypted; the network guide names WebRTC; TLS version and end-to-end claim are not stated5
The screen never stored, keys never loggedYes: Yes: the screen is never recorded and what you type is never loggedPartly: Not stated on its pages
SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAANo: None yetPartly: Not stated on its pages
Where data is heldPartly: United States; no choice of regionPartly: Not stated on its pages

Business

WhatORelayChrome Remote Desktop
Pricing modelYes: A flat price per plan: Free, Pro $20, MSP $150, Enterprise $500 a monthPartly: Not stated on its pages
Trial or free planYes: Yes: a free plan of 5 computers, with no time limitPartly: Not stated on its pages
Monthly or annualYes: Yes: monthly, or yearly at ten months’ worth; cancel any timePartly: Not stated on its pages
SupportYes: Yes: e-mail and phone, by the people who build itPartly: A help forum and the Help Center community are named; e-mail, chat and phone support are not described5
API and webhooksPartly: Webhooks for alerts; the viewers’ REST API is not yet documented for othersPartly: Not stated on its pages

Chrome Remote Desktop’s pages, as read on October 28, 2026

  1. https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/2799701?hl=en
  2. https://chromeenterprise.google/policies/remote-access-host-require-two-factor/
  3. https://chromeenterprise.google/policies/remote-access-host-domain/
  4. https://support.google.com/chrome/a/answer/9547497?hl=en
  5. https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/1649523?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop
  6. https://chromeenterprise.google/policies/remote-access-host-clipboard-size-bytes/

Google publishes no comparison page for this product, so its help centre is the ceiling and most rows are unknown (not stated); the consumer help article says nothing about file transfer, multiple monitors, Ctrl+Alt+Del, printing or recording, which are unknown and not no. No page returned 403 or 404, but the chromeenterprise.google policy pages are drawn by script and return only their title and navigation, so quotes from them are the policy titles. Quotes end before the space-and-full-stop Google's help pages print after a link.

Where Chrome Remote Desktop is the better choice

  • Price: nothing to pay, ever, for any number of computers.
  • You already live in Google’s world: the same account, nothing new to trust.
  • Supporting a stranger once: they generate a code, read it to you, and confirm every 30 minutes.
  • A Chromebook as the thing you connect from.

Where ORelay is the better choice

  • You know before you connect: online or not, processor, memory and disk, with an alert when a line is crossed.
  • Fixing without the screen: a terminal, one command, quick fixes and a restart from the phone, each one logged.
  • More than one person: roles, an organization, and sharing one computer with a code, without handing over a Google account.
  • The person at the computer decides: they can switch remote access off, and every session starts view-only.

What each costs

ORelay

Free: $0
1 person, 5 computers, no time limit
Pro: $20 a month, or $200 a year
3 people, 50 computers, scheduled tasks, inventory, webhooks, the cloud vault, enrolment keys
MSP: $150 a month, or $1,500 a year
10 people, unlimited computers, Active Directory, company sign-in

Yearly plans are ten months’ worth. Everything is on the pricing page.

Chrome Remote Desktop, as shown on October 28, 2026

Free: $0
Everything it does, with a Google account

Prices change; the sources below are the pages to check.

Try ORelay

Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, nothing to open on your network.

Sources