ORelay vs Pulseway
Pulseway is remote monitoring and management built around its phone app: monitoring and alerts for Windows, Mac, Linux and network devices, remote control, patch management and scripting, with antivirus, backup, ticketing and documentation as add-ons, sold to IT departments and managed service providers.
Pulseway and ORelay want the same thing, the computers in your pocket, for different buyers. Pulseway is a full RMM for a team that patches, scripts and tickets, priced by quote after a demo (its comparison pages say $27 a month, with no unit). ORelay is for the owner of a few computers, or the small shop that looks after a few dozen: a price on the page, a free plan, nobody to call.


Side by side
Pulseway’s column is what its own pages said on October 28, 2026; the sources are at the end.
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Free use | Yes: Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, personal or commercial | No: No free plan; its pages offer a free trial, whose link leads to a demo request |
| Cheapest paid plan | Yes: Pro, $20 a month: 3 people and 50 computers included | Partly: No price list; its comparison pages say $27 a month with no unit, and its Pro plan covers up to 50 endpoints |
| A plan for 50 computers | Yes: Pro, $20 a month | Partly: Pro, up to 50 endpoints; the price by quote |
| Computers it reaches | Yes: Windows, Mac, Linux | Yes: Windows, Mac, Linux, and network devices |
| From a phone | Yes: Android and iPhone apps: see the screen and take control | Yes: iOS and Android apps: monitoring, alerts and remote control of Windows and Mac |
| From a browser | Yes: Yes, any browser, nothing to install on your side | Yes: Web console |
| Unattended access | Yes: Yes: the agent connects out, and stays connected | Yes: Yes, with unlimited sessions |
| Files | Yes: Browse, upload, download, send from your phone | Yes: A file browser, and file transfer during a remote control session |
| Terminal | Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output | Yes: Terminal and PowerShell commands from the phone app; scripting and automation |
| Health readings and alerts | Yes: Processor, memory, disk, network; alerts by e-mail, webhook, ntfy or app | Yes: Yes: its core, for computers and network devices |
| Scheduled tasks, software inventory | Yes: Scheduled tasks; software inventory with CSV export | Partly: Scripts and tasks on a schedule; a software inventory is not on its pages |
| Patch management | No: No: ORelay does not patch | Yes: Operating systems and third-party apps |
| Nothing opens on the computer | Yes: Nothing opens on the computer: it only connects out | Yes: Outbound too |
| Self-hosted option | No: No: ORelay runs the service | No: No (cloud service) |
| Open source | No: No | No: No |
Show the full comparison53 rows in 10 groups: signing in, people and permissions, directory, the screen, beyond the screen, files, monitoring, deployment, security, business
Both columns were last checked on October 28, 2026: Pulseway’s is what its own pages say, 44 of 53 rows answered there and the rest marked “not stated on its pages” rather than guessed. Each of its answers carries a footnote to the page it was read from, with the sentence as its tooltip.
Signing in
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Single sign-on (SAML or OIDC) | No: No SAML or OIDC yet | Partly: OpenID Connect SSO for the RMM with Google and Microsoft; SAML not stated for the RMM1 |
| Sign in with Google, Microsoft, Apple or GitHub | Yes: Yes: Google, Apple, Microsoft and GitHub, once added under Account | Partly: Google and Microsoft accounts through OpenID Connect, which an admin sets up first1 |
| Two-step sign-in with an authenticator app | Yes: Yes, with recovery codes | Yes: Authenticator-app (TOTP) two-step sign-in; admins can require it for every user2 |
| Passkeys | Yes: Yes, on the web and in the apps | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Require the company sign-in | Partly: With Microsoft Entra ID only; MSP and Enterprise | Yes: Admins can enforce SSO for all users; administrators keep a password sign-in as fallback1 |
People and permissions
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Roles | Yes: Yes: owner, admin, support and viewer; admin, support or viewer on a single computer | Yes: Built-in Administrators team plus user-defined teams with Full Access, Read-only or No Access3 |
| Access per computer or group | Yes: Yes, per computer or by group; support and viewers see only what they are given | Yes: Each team gets an access level per organization, site or agent group3 |
| Access that expires by itself | Yes: Yes: a day, a week, a month or always; share codes expire | Partly: Only Remote Control on Demand links expire (10 minutes if not started; 120-minute default session); expiring grants not stated4 |
| Share one computer with someone outside | Yes: Yes, with a share code made at the computer, which stays in its owner’s account | Partly: End-user accounts can be given Remote Control on their own devices through the Client Portal; sharing with outsiders not stated5 |
| Several organizations under one login | Yes: Yes, each with its own database | Partly: Organizations, sites and agent groups with access set per team; data separation not described3 |
| Audit log | Yes: Yes: every session, command, file, power and settings change, with who did it | Yes: Audit log of account activity with date, user and device6 |
Directory
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Active Directory | Partly: Read-only: users, computers and groups through a domain controller you allow; MSP and Enterprise | Partly: Domain users and groups through a domain controller, with unlock, reset password and group changes; computers not mentioned7 |
| Microsoft Entra ID sync | No: No: Entra ID is used for sign-in only | Partly: Entra ID user sync is documented for its PSA product, not the RMM8 |
| LDAP | No: No | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
The screen
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Multiple monitors | Yes: Yes: switch between monitors in the session | Yes: Shows all of the remote computer's screens, and can black out the screen and block input5 |
| Ctrl+Alt+Del | Yes: Yes, on Windows | Yes: Sends Ctrl+Alt+Del; on Remote Control on Demand it needs elevated privileges9 |
| The Windows sign-in screen | Yes: Yes, with nobody signed in | Partly: States access to macOS computers with no signed-in user; a Windows sign-in screen is not stated9 |
| Clipboard | Partly: Text pasted into the computer through a box; no two-way clipboard | Partly: Pastes the local clipboard into the session as keystrokes; no two-way sharing stated9 |
| Remote printing | No: No | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Session recording | No: No, by design: the screen is never stored | Partly: Records remote control sessions, shared and private, for Windows agents only5 |
| Sessions start view-only | Yes: Yes: taking control is a separate, logged step | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| The person at the computer can switch it off | Yes: Yes: the ORelay window on the computer shows what remote users may do, and any of it can be switched off | Partly: Remote Control on Demand asks the user to start a session with user or elevated access; for installed agents not stated4 |
| Blank the physical screen | Yes: Yes, on Windows and Mac; the blanked screen says who is connected | Yes: Can block the remote user's keyboard and mouse and blank the remote display9 |
Beyond the screen
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Terminal, or one command with its output | Yes: Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output, in the browser and the apps | Partly: Terminal and PowerShell commands from the mobile app; a web or desktop terminal is not stated10 |
| Scripts across many computers | Partly: Quick fixes run on one computer or several at once; no script library yet | Yes: Built-in scripts (Bash, PowerShell, VBScript) and your own script library11 |
| Scheduled tasks | Yes: Yes: timer or cron, with every run’s output; Pro and above | Yes: Scripts and tasks run on a schedule (occurrence, days and start time) or on demand12 |
| Software inventory | Yes: Yes: every installed program, searchable, with a CSV export; refresh on Pro and above | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Patch management | No: No | Yes: Patches Windows, Mac and Linux plus more than 300 third-party titles, with approval and scheduling13 |
| Power actions | Yes: Yes: shut down, restart, sleep, hibernate, lock, sign out; now or up to an hour later | Yes: Lock, log off, restart, shut down, suspend and hibernate from the app; scheduling not stated10 |
| Wake-on-LAN | No: No | Yes: Wake on WAN; needs a wired adapter, BIOS support and UDP port 9 forwarded behind a router14 |
Files
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Browse folders without a session | Yes: Yes, from the browser and the phone | Yes: File Browser shows the target computer's folders and files and previews them, once switched on in policy or at the agent15 |
| Upload and download | Yes: Yes, from the browser or the phone, over the agent’s own connection | Yes: Background file transfer to and from the remote computer during a remote control session9 |
| Files kept in the service | Yes: Yes: copies kept in ORelay per plan; the vault encrypts files into your own Google Drive or OneDrive | Partly: Managed Files keeps files centrally to push to devices, encrypted at rest and in transit; not a copy of a computer's own files16 |
| Size limits | Partly: 10 GB per file sent to a computer; stored files 1 GB on Free, 25 GB on Pro, 100 GB on MSP | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
Monitoring
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Processor, memory, disk, network | Yes: Yes, live, and buffered on the computer while the service is unreachable | Partly: Real-time CPU temperature, network and memory readings are stated; disk and a history over time are not17 |
| Alerts on a reading, or a computer going quiet | Yes: Yes: a reading over a threshold for a duration, or a computer offline; severity, acknowledge, history | Yes: Notifications on low memory, processor use above or below normal, closed ports and services18 |
| Where alerts go | Yes: Yes: e-mail, webhook (Discord, Slack or JSON), ntfy and the app; no SMS | Yes: Slack, PagerDuty, Autotask and Zendesk tickets, and mobile app alerts19 |
| Network devices (SNMP) | No: No | Yes: SNMP monitoring of network devices such as routers, switches and printers20 |
Deployment
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Silent installers | Yes: Yes: Windows MSI, Mac pkg, Debian and RPM packages | Partly: Windows MSI installs silently with /qn; silent install for Mac and Linux packages is not stated21 |
| Many computers at once | Yes: Yes: enrolment keys, each computer with its own certificate; Pro and above | Yes: Network-discovery mass deployment, and MSI installers made per organization, site and group22 |
| Intune, Jamf, Group Policy, Ansible | Yes: Yes: Intune, Configuration Manager, Group Policy, Jamf Pro, Kandji and Ansible kits, made in the browser | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| The agent updates itself | Yes: Yes, signed updates | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| Signed installers | Yes: Yes: Windows signed, Mac notarized, Linux packages signed | Yes: Windows and macOS agents and applications are code-signed; notarization not stated23 |
| Linux desktops, including Wayland | Yes: Yes: X11 and Wayland; under GNOME the person at the computer approves the first session | Partly: Linux agents (deb, rpm and others) are offered; remote control is stated for Windows and macOS only; Wayland not stated24 |
Security
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Encryption | Yes: Yes: mutual TLS 1.3 between each computer and the service; HTTPS for the browser and the apps | Partly: Says end-to-end encryption, AES-256 with RSA key exchange; TLS version and mutual TLS not stated23 |
| The screen never stored, keys never logged | Yes: Yes: the screen is never recorded and what you type is never logged | Partly: Not stated on its pages |
| SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA | No: None yet | Partly: Names SOC 2 and ISO for its data centre; no attestation of Pulseway itself, no HIPAA or GDPR23 |
| Where data is held | Partly: United States; no choice of region | Partly: Cloud servers are in US East Coast data centres; a self-hosted Team server exists (FAQ); region choice not stated23 |
Business
| What | ORelay | Pulseway |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Yes: A flat price per plan: Free, Pro $20, MSP $150, Enterprise $500 a month | Partly: Comparison tables show $27/month with no unit; no price list (pricing page leads to a demo); Pro plan: up to 50 endpoints (FAQ)25 |
| Trial or free plan | Yes: Yes: a free plan of 5 computers, with no time limit | Partly: A free trial is offered on its comparison pages; length and limits not stated, and its trial link now leads to a demo request26 |
| Monthly or annual | Yes: Yes: monthly, or yearly at ten months’ worth; cancel any time | Partly: Says "no contracts" on one page; its Atera page says an offer applies to annual or multi-year contracts27 |
| Support | Yes: Yes: e-mail and phone, by the people who build it | Yes: Phone for North America, APAC and EMEA, contact form, help centre and community forum; cost not stated28 |
| API and webhooks | Partly: Webhooks for alerts; the viewers’ REST API is not yet documented for others | Yes: REST API v3 with notification webhooks and device webhook commands29 |
Pulseway’s pages, as read on October 28, 2026
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/10269422-single-sign-on-sso-integration-using-the-openid-connect-authentication-protocol
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/3223603-setup-two-factor-authentication
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/10096748-managing-teams-and-users
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/10095980-remote-control-on-demand
- https://www.pulseway.com/products/remote-access-software
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/10096605-audit-log
- https://www.pulseway.com/features/activedirectory
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/9373486-microsoft-entra-id-integration
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/11640590-remote-control
- https://www.pulseway.com/products/mobile-app
- https://www.pulseway.com/blog/auto-remediate-it-issues-with-pulseway-automation-workflows
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/821208-configuring-automation-tasks
- https://www.pulseway.com/products/patch-management
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/1514224-how-to-configure-wake-on-wan
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/1514309-how-to-enable-and-configure-the-file-browser
- https://www.pulseway.com/features/it-automation
- https://www.pulseway.com/land/atera-landing
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/1514484-how-to-enable-performance-notifications
- https://www.pulseway.com/integrations
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/1514382-how-to-enable-and-configure-the-simple-network-management-protocol-snmp-monitoring
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/1514873-unattended-installation
- https://intercom.help/pulseway/en/articles/3894982-pulseway-deployment-methods
- https://www.pulseway.com/resources/security
- https://www.pulseway.com/downloads
- https://www.pulseway.com/land/n-able-alternative
- https://www.pulseway.com/blog/pulseway-vs-ninjaone
- https://www.pulseway.com/land/kaseya-alternative
- https://www.pulseway.com/
- https://api.pulseway.com/
pricing, onboarding and rmm-software redirect to the home page, and old addresses moved (/security to /resources/security, /remotedesktop to /products/remote-access-software, /features is a 404); /land/datto-rmm-alternative redirects to the home page, so Pulseway has no Datto comparison page now; /request/trial redirects to the demo form. Its Security White Paper, Unattended Installation Guide and UserManual PDFs return raw PDF data and could not be read as text; dev.pulseway.com refused earlier. The Entra ID sync and SAML documentation is for its PSA product; the RMM documents OpenID Connect only. Its comparison pages (Atera table, Kaseya, N-able, LogMeIn, remote-management, NinjaOne and TeamViewer posts) claim for itself a mobile app, AD monitoring, Linux agent, third-party patching, antivirus management, automation, real-time alerts, a free trial, "no contracts" and "$27/month", and nothing on sign-in, access control, file transfer or security; rows resting only on its help centre or product pages are marked by their source.
Where Pulseway is the better choice
- Patching: operating systems and third-party apps, scheduled and reported.
- Add-ons from the same vendor: antivirus, ransomware detection, backup, ticketing, documentation.
- Network devices in the same console.
- A team of technicians at scale, with the policies and automation an RMM is for.
Where ORelay is the better choice
- A price on the page and a free plan: sign up, add a computer, and you are in; no demo, no quote.
- Fifty computers for $20 a month, flat, with 3 people.
- Made for the home and the small office as well as the IT shop: your parents’ computer and a client’s server in the same list.
- The person at the computer decides: they can switch remote access off, and every session starts view-only.
What each costs
ORelay
- Free: $0
- 1 person, 5 computers, no time limit
- Pro: $20 a month, or $200 a year
- 3 people, 50 computers, scheduled tasks, inventory, webhooks, the cloud vault, enrolment keys
- MSP: $150 a month, or $1,500 a year
- 10 people, unlimited computers, Active Directory, company sign-in
Yearly plans are ten months’ worth. Everything is on the pricing page.
Pulseway, as shown on October 28, 2026
- RMM: Not published: by quote, per endpoint
- Monitoring and alerting, remote control, patch management, scripting; antivirus, ransomware detection, backup, ticketing and documentation as add-ons
Prices change; the sources below are the pages to check.
Try ORelay
Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, nothing to open on your network.
Sources
- Pulseway pricing (no prices shown: “Get a demo”)
- Pulseway: getting started with remote control from the app
- Read on October 28, 2026. Pulseway is a trademark of its owner, which has no connection with ORelay Studios LLC.