Compare

ORelay vs RustDesk

RustDesk is an open-source remote desktop (AGPL-3.0) you can run entirely on your own server: a free server you install yourself, or a paid Server Pro with a web console, two-factor sign-in, an address book and single sign-on.

If you want to own every byte and run the server yourself, RustDesk is the right tool, and it is free to do so. If you would rather not run a server, and you want the computer’s health, alerts and scheduled tasks beside the screen, ORelay gives you that as a service, with the phone app included and nothing to host.

The ORelay dashboard: six computers in two groups with their status, processor and memory, the latest alerts and activity.

Side by side

RustDesk’s column is what its own pages said on October 28, 2026; the sources are at the end.

WhatORelayRustDesk
Free useYes: Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, personal or commercialYes: Free: the open-source client and server, which you host; public servers for getting started
Cheapest paid planYes: Pro, $20 a month: 3 people and 50 computers includedYes: Server Pro Individual, $11.88 a month billed annually: 1 user, at most 20 managed devices, on your own server
A plan for a small teamYes: Pro, $20 a month: 3 people and 50 computers included, hosted; MSP, $150 a month: 10 people, unlimited computersYes: Server Pro Basic, $23.88 a month billed annually: at most 10 users and 100 managed devices, on your own server
Computers it reachesYes: Windows, Mac, LinuxYes: Windows, Mac, Linux, and more
From a phoneYes: Android and iPhone apps: see the screen and take controlYes: Android and iOS apps
From a browserYes: Yes, any browser, nothing to install on your sidePartly: Web client with Server Pro, once (users × 10) + devices reaches 400
Unattended accessYes: Yes: the agent connects out, and stays connectedYes: Yes
FilesYes: Browse, upload, download, send from your phoneYes: File transfer, as a session of its own
TerminalYes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its outputYes: Yes: terminal sessions, on by default
Health readings and alertsYes: Processor, memory, disk, network; alerts by e-mail, webhook, ntfy or appNo: Not on its pages
Scheduled tasks, software inventoryYes: Scheduled tasks; software inventory with CSV exportNo: Not on its pages
Who runs the serverPartly: ORelay Studios, in the cloudPartly: You (or RustDesk’s public servers)
Self-hosted optionNo: No: ORelay runs the serviceYes: Yes, that is the point
Open sourceNo: NoYes: Yes, AGPL-3.0
Show the full comparison53 rows in 10 groups: signing in, people and permissions, directory, the screen, beyond the screen, files, monitoring, deployment, security, business

Both columns were last checked on October 28, 2026: RustDesk’s is what its own pages say, 35 of 53 rows answered there and the rest marked “not stated on its pages” rather than guessed. Each of its answers carries a footnote to the page it was read from, with the sentence as its tooltip.

Signing in

WhatORelayRustDesk
Single sign-on (SAML or OIDC)No: No SAML or OIDC yetPartly: Server Pro Basic and up: OIDC single sign-on and LDAP. SAML is not mentioned1
Sign in with Google, Microsoft, Apple or GitHubYes: Yes: Google, Apple, Microsoft and GitHub, once added under AccountPartly: Server Pro Basic and up, through OIDC: Google, Okta, Facebook, Azure, GitHub and GitLab accounts named2
Two-step sign-in with an authenticator appYes: Yes, with recovery codesPartly: TOTP authenticator-app 2FA in Server Pro (Individual and above); not in the free server3
PasskeysYes: Yes, on the web and in the appsPartly: Not stated on its pages
Require the company sign-inPartly: With Microsoft Entra ID only; MSP and EnterprisePartly: Not stated on its pages

People and permissions

WhatORelayRustDesk
RolesYes: Yes: owner, admin, support and viewer; admin, support or viewer on a single computerYes: Server Pro only: Admin Roles (global, individual, group scoped) and Control Roles for in-session permissions4
Access per computer or groupYes: Yes, per computer or by group; support and viewers see only what they are givenYes: Server Pro only: access rules by user, user group and device group; a device sits in one device group5
Access that expires by itselfYes: Yes: a day, a week, a month or always; share codes expirePartly: Not stated on its pages
Share one computer with someone outsideYes: Yes, with a share code made at the computer, which stays in its owner’s accountPartly: Anyone with a computer's ID and password can connect; no named sharing feature is described6
Several organizations under one loginYes: Yes, each with its own databasePartly: Not stated on its pages
Audit logYes: Yes: every session, command, file, power and settings change, with who did itYes: Server Pro only: logs of connections, file transfers, alarms and console actions; CSV export; retention setting1

Directory

WhatORelayRustDesk
Active DirectoryPartly: Read-only: users, computers and groups through a domain controller you allow; MSP and EnterprisePartly: Server Pro Basic and up: sign-in through LDAP/Active Directory; no reading of domain users or computers described1
Microsoft Entra ID syncNo: No: Entra ID is used for sign-in onlyPartly: Not stated on its pages
LDAPNo: NoPartly: Server Pro Basic and up; users are created at first LDAP login; LDAP groups and converting local users not yet supported7

The screen

WhatORelayRustDesk
Multiple monitorsYes: Yes: switch between monitors in the sessionYes: Multi-monitor sessions; on Linux Wayland since 1.4.38
Ctrl+Alt+DelYes: Yes, on WindowsPartly: Not stated on its pages
The Windows sign-in screenYes: Yes, with nobody signed inPartly: Windows service reaches the sign-in screen; Linux needs X11 or a Wayland preview; macOS not stated9
ClipboardPartly: Text pasted into the computer through a box; no two-way clipboardYes: Copy and paste for incoming connections, on by default; file copy and paste too10
Remote printingNo: NoPartly: Remote printer for incoming connections, Windows computers only8
Session recordingNo: No, by design: the screen is never storedYes: Sessions can be recorded; incoming and outgoing sessions can be set to record automatically8
Sessions start view-onlyYes: Yes: taking control is a separate, logged stepPartly: Not by default (view-only default is off); a setting makes view-only the starting state for each peer10
Blank the physical screenYes: Yes, on Windows and Mac; the blanked screen says who is connectedPartly: Privacy mode blanks the local display during a session on Windows and macOS; the computer can switch it off11

Beyond the screen

WhatORelayRustDesk
Terminal, or one command with its outputYes: Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output, in the browser and the appsYes: Terminal sessions for incoming connections, on by default; can be disabled or allowed per role in Server Pro10
Scripts across many computersPartly: Quick fixes run on one computer or several at once; no script library yetPartly: Not stated on its pages
Scheduled tasksYes: Yes: timer or cron, with every run’s output; Pro and abovePartly: Not stated on its pages
Software inventoryYes: Yes: every installed program, searchable, with a CSV export; refresh on Pro and abovePartly: Not stated on its pages
Patch managementNo: NoPartly: Not stated on its pages
Power actionsYes: Yes: shut down, restart, sleep, hibernate, lock, sign out; now or up to an hour laterPartly: Remote restart can be allowed; shutdown, sleep, lock and scheduling are not stated10
Wake-on-LANNo: NoPartly: Only for computers found by LAN discovery, when the hardware supports it10

Files

WhatORelayRustDesk
Browse folders without a sessionYes: Yes, from the browser and the phoneYes: File transfer runs as its own session, apart from the desktop10
Upload and downloadYes: Yes, from the browser or the phone, over the agent’s own connectionYes: File transfer in both directions8
Files kept in the serviceYes: Yes: copies kept in ORelay per plan; the vault encrypts files into your own Google Drive or OneDrivePartly: Not stated on its pages
Size limitsPartly: 10 GB per file sent to a computer; stored files 1 GB on Free, 25 GB on Pro, 100 GB on MSPPartly: Not stated on its pages

Monitoring

WhatORelayRustDesk
Processor, memory, disk, networkYes: Yes, live, and buffered on the computer while the service is unreachablePartly: Not stated on its pages
Alerts on a reading, or a computer going quietYes: Yes: a reading over a threshold for a duration, or a computer offline; severity, acknowledge, historyPartly: Not stated on its pages
Where alerts goYes: Yes: e-mail, webhook (Discord, Slack or JSON), ntfy and the app; no SMSPartly: Not stated on its pages
Network devices (SNMP)No: NoPartly: Not stated on its pages

Deployment

WhatORelayRustDesk
Silent installersYes: Yes: Windows MSI, Mac pkg, Debian and RPM packagesPartly: Windows MSI with silent options; scripts for macOS and Linux; no pkg/deb/rpm silent options described12
Many computers at onceYes: Yes: enrolment keys, each computer with its own certificate; Pro and aboveYes: Custom client generator (Server Pro) or deployment scripts that apply a config string13
Intune, Jamf, Group Policy, AnsibleYes: Yes: Intune, Configuration Manager, Group Policy, Jamf Pro, Kandji and Ansible kits, made in the browserPartly: MSI deployable by Group Policy, Intune or an RMM; no Jamf, Configuration Manager or Ansible kits documented1
The agent updates itselfYes: Yes, signed updatesPartly: Windows only (1.4.6 or later): a setting downloads and installs the latest release from GitHub; off by default10
Signed installersYes: Yes: Windows signed, Mac notarized, Linux packages signedPartly: Not stated on its pages
Linux desktops, including WaylandYes: Yes: X11 and Wayland; under GNOME the person at the computer approves the first sessionPartly: Wayland supported with limits; login screen needs X11, or an unattended Wayland preview on x86_64 Debian/Ubuntu14

Security

WhatORelayRustDesk
EncryptionYes: Yes: mutual TLS 1.3 between each computer and the service; HTTPS for the browser and the appsYes: End-to-end for ID-based sessions when clients hold the server public key (NaCl-based); TLS version not stated8
The screen never stored, keys never loggedYes: Yes: the screen is never recorded and what you type is never loggedPartly: Not stated on its pages
SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAANo: None yetNo: Claims no attestation; says self-hosting is a deployment control, not a certification11
Where data is heldPartly: United States; no choice of regionPartly: Self-hosted: you choose where it runs. Location of its public servers is not stated11

Business

WhatORelayRustDesk
Pricing modelYes: A flat price per plan: Free, Pro $20, MSP $150, Enterprise $500 a monthYes: Server Pro by login user and device: $11.88/mo (1 user, 20 devices), $23.88/mo (10 users, 100), billed annually; OSS free15
Trial or free planYes: Yes: a free plan of 5 computers, with no time limitPartly: Free self-hosted server (Server OSS) with no limits stated; no self-serve Server Pro trial, email for terms16
Monthly or annualYes: Yes: monthly, or yearly at ten months’ worth; cancel any timeNo: Annual payment only, no auto-renewal15
SupportYes: Yes: e-mail and phone, by the people who build itPartly: Community support on the free plan; dedicated support with paid plans15
API and webhooksPartly: Webhooks for alerts; the viewers’ REST API is not yet documented for othersYes: Server Pro only: REST API with tokens made in the web console, plus Python command-line scripts1

RustDesk’s pages, as read on October 28, 2026

  1. https://rustdesk.com/blog/rustdesk-for-enterprise/
  2. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/self-host/rustdesk-server-pro/oidc/
  3. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/self-host/rustdesk-server-pro/2fa/
  4. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/self-host/rustdesk-server-pro/admin-role/
  5. https://rustdesk.com/blog/self-hosted-teamviewer-alternative/
  6. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/client/android/
  7. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/self-host/rustdesk-server-pro/ldap/
  8. https://rustdesk.com/blog/rustdesk-vs-teamviewer/
  9. https://rustdesk.com/blog/rustdesk-unattended-access-setup/
  10. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/self-host/client-configuration/advanced-settings/
  11. https://rustdesk.com/blog/remote-desktop-data-sovereignty-gdpr/
  12. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/client/windows/msi/
  13. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/self-host/client-deployment/
  14. https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/client/linux/
  15. https://rustdesk.com/pricing/
  16. https://rustdesk.com/blog/rustdesk-vs-anydesk/

Every page loaded; none returned 403 or 404 this pass. Redirects: each blog and pricing URL redirects to its trailing-slash address, which is the source used. The vendor posts (vs TeamViewer, vs AnyDesk, self-hosted alternative) claim for RustDesk itself: remote control, unattended access, file transfer, session recording, remote printing on Windows, multi-monitor, LDAP and OIDC SSO from the Basic plan, access control by device group, Control Roles, a REST API and a custom client generator; they say nothing of monitoring, patching, scripting or Active Directory reading. Other rows rest on the docs pages and are marked Server Pro or client. Rows left unknown were looked for on the docs, pricing and blog pages and not found.

Where RustDesk is the better choice

  • Full control: the source is open, and the ID and relay servers can be yours, so no traffic touches anyone else’s machine.
  • Cost at scale when you already run servers: the Pro licence is per server, not per technician.
  • Air-gapped and LAN-only networks, where a hosted service cannot reach.
  • Tinkering: a community, forks, and a client you can build yourself.

Where ORelay is the better choice

  • Nothing to host, patch, back up or keep reachable: ORelay runs the service, and the agent only connects out.
  • Beyond the screen: health readings, alerts, scheduled tasks and the software list, none of which is on RustDesk’s pages.
  • The phone app is part of the product, with the same computers, alerts and quick fixes as the browser.
  • Sharing one computer with a code, organizations with their own data, and enrolment keys for many computers at once.

What each costs

ORelay

Free: $0
1 person, 5 computers, no time limit
Pro: $20 a month, or $200 a year
3 people, 50 computers, scheduled tasks, inventory, webhooks, the cloud vault, enrolment keys
MSP: $150 a month, or $1,500 a year
10 people, unlimited computers, Active Directory, company sign-in

Yearly plans are ten months’ worth. Everything is on the pricing page.

RustDesk, as shown on October 28, 2026

Free (open source): $0
The client and the server, which you install and run
Server Pro Individual: $11.88 a month, billed annually
1 user, 20 managed devices, 2FA, web console, address book, audit log
Server Pro Basic: $23.88 a month, billed annually
10 users, 100 managed devices, plus SSO, LDAP and a custom client
Customized: From $23.88 a month, billed annually
Users at $1.20 and devices at $0.12 each on top

Prices change; the sources below are the pages to check.

Try ORelay

Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, nothing to open on your network.

Sources