Compare

ORelay against the others, row by row

The rows buyers ask about before paying: single sign-on, roles, Active Directory, session recording, patching, where alerts go, SOC 2. Each product’s cell is what its own pages say; a tilde is a condition or an add-on, and a grey cross is either a plain no or “not stated on its pages”, which the product’s page tells apart. Hover a cell for the words, or open the product’s page for the sentence and the source.

Signing in

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Single sign-on (SAML or OIDC)No: No SAML or OIDC yetPartly: SAML 2.0 single sign-on, on the Enterprise/Tensor license only; OIDC not mentionedPartly: OpenID Connect single sign-on on the Ultimate (Cloud) plan; SAML is not namedPartly: Server Pro Basic and up: OIDC single sign-on and LDAP. SAML is not mentionedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: OpenID Connect SSO for the RMM with Google and Microsoft; SAML not stated for the RMMYes: SAML 2.0 single sign-on, sign-in started from NinjaOne only; tested with Azure, OneLogin and Okta; OIDC not mentionedPartly: Azure AD or OIDC sign-in for technicians, top plan only (Superpower); SAML not listed there
Sign in with Google, Microsoft, Apple or GitHubYes: Yes: Google, Apple, Microsoft and GitHub, once added under AccountPartly: Create an account with Google or Microsoft, for personal use only; Apple and GitHub not mentionedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Server Pro Basic and up, through OIDC: Google, Okta, Facebook, Azure, GitHub and GitLab accounts namedPartly: Sign-in is with a Google Account only; no Microsoft, Apple or GitHub sign-in is describedPartly: Google and Microsoft accounts through OpenID Connect, which an admin sets up firstPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pages
Two-step sign-in with an authenticator appYes: Yes, with recovery codesYes: Two-factor sign-in with any TOTP authenticator app, plus a 16-character recovery codeYes: Time-based one-time passwords for connections and the my.anydesk account; authenticator appPartly: TOTP authenticator-app 2FA in Server Pro (Individual and above); not in the free serverPartly: Admin policy turns on two-factor for hosts in place of the PIN; the method (authenticator app) is not statedYes: Authenticator-app (TOTP) two-step sign-in; admins can require it for every userYes: Required for every user; authenticator-app codes, SMS and security keysYes: Authenticator-app 2FA, required for every user after the first day and cannot be turned off
PasskeysYes: Yes, on the web and in the appsPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Security keys (U2F) are supported; passkeys and WebAuthn are not named on the pageYes: Passkeys on top of 2FA: Windows Hello, Touch ID, Face ID, phone or USB security key
Require the company sign-inPartly: With Microsoft Entra ID only; MSP and EnterprisePartly: With SSO on a domain, its users are redirected to the identity provider; Enterprise/Tensor licensePartly: Ultimate (Cloud) users sign in by SSO with the organization ID; a switch that forces it is not statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Admin policy requires hosts to be registered with a given domain name; not a company identity providerYes: Admins can enforce SSO for all users; administrators keep a password sign-in as fallbackPartly: SSO is set per technician account; requiring it for the whole organization is not statedPartly: Not stated on its pages

People and permissions

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
RolesYes: Yes: owner, admin, support and viewer; admin, support or viewer on a single computerYes: Tensor has company administrator, user administrator and member roles, plus custom roles (up to 100)Yes: Admin, DPO, Tech support and User roles on Advanced; custom roles on Ultimate-Cloud onlyYes: Server Pro only: Admin Roles (global, individual, group scoped) and Control Roles for in-session permissionsPartly: ChromeOS devices in the Admin console only: delegated admins may connect but not change device detailsYes: Built-in Administrators team plus user-defined teams with Full Access, Read-only or No AccessYes: System Administrator, Technician and End User; technician permissions are set by role; no read-only role namedYes: Preset Admin and view-only Beginner roles, plus unlimited custom roles
Access per computer or groupYes: Yes, per computer or by group; support and viewers see only what they are givenYes: Devices or device groups can be shared with chosen users or user groups at set permission levelsPartly: Each computer can limit which IDs connect (access list); per-user grants on computers not statedYes: Server Pro only: access rules by user, user group and device group; a device sits in one device groupPartly: Admin settings for ChromeOS devices apply per organizational unit; not described for Windows, Mac or Linux hostsYes: Each team gets an access level per organization, site or agent groupPartly: Roles limit a technician to chosen organizations and device types; per single device or group is not statedPartly: Roles can be limited to customers and to excluded folders; a single computer is not mentioned
Access that expires by itselfYes: Yes: a day, a week, a month or always; share codes expirePartly: Conditional access rules can expire and be limited to time slots; Tensor with the Conditional Access add-onPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: A support access code works once and sharing is re-confirmed every 30 minutes; no expiring access for a computerPartly: Only Remote Control on Demand links expire (10 minutes if not started; 120-minute default session); expiring grants not statedPartly: Quick Connect invitations give temporary access to unenrolled devices; expiry on technician accounts is not statedPartly: Not stated on its pages
Share one computer with someone outsideYes: Yes, with a share code made at the computer, which stays in its owner’s accountPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Anyone given the AnyDesk ID and unattended password can connect; sharing by named outside account not statedPartly: Anyone with a computer's ID and password can connect; no named sharing feature is describedYes: Share your screen with anyone by sending a one-time access code; they get full accessPartly: End-user accounts can be given Remote Control on their own devices through the Client Portal; sharing with outsiders not statedPartly: An end user can be assigned devices, across organizations if made a global end user; sharing outside the company is not describedPartly: Work From Home gives a customer's contact a link to reach their own assigned computer (paid add-on, through Splashtop)
Several organizations under one loginYes: Yes, each with its own databaseYes: Multi-tenancy to manage each client from one console, stated for TeamViewer ONEPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Organizations, sites and agent groups with access set per team; data separation not describedYes: Organizations under one console; a technician sees only the organizations they are givenYes: Many customers under one account, with roles that can be limited to chosen customers
Audit logYes: Yes: every session, command, file, power and settings change, with who did itPartly: Event log of sessions and Management Console actions, kept one year; Tensor license, off until an admin turns it onPartly: Session logs in my.anydesk; log of admin changes (who, what, when) on Ultimate-Cloud onlyYes: Server Pro only: logs of connections, file transfers, alarms and console actions; CSV export; retention settingPartly: Admin audit log for remote sessions on ChromeOS devices only; not described for Windows, Mac or LinuxYes: Audit log of account activity with date, user and deviceYes: Exportable audit logs of administrative activity; remote sessions are logged with the technician's nameYes: Logins, remote sessions, file transfers, scripts and settings; CSV export; kept longer on higher plans

Directory

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Active DirectoryPartly: Read-only: users, computers and groups through a domain controller you allow; MSP and EnterprisePartly: AD Connector syncs users from chosen AD groups into TeamViewer accounts; computers not read; Premium and abovePartly: Imports users from Active Directory over LDAP on Ultimate-Cloud; no computer listing statedPartly: Server Pro Basic and up: sign-in through LDAP/Active Directory; no reading of domain users or computers describedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Domain users and groups through a domain controller, with unlock, reset password and group changes; computers not mentionedPartly: Reads computers and OUs through a domain controller to deploy the agent; users and groups are not readPartly: Network Discovery add-on scans a domain through a domain controller to list its devices; no user management stated
Microsoft Entra ID syncNo: No: Entra ID is used for sign-in onlyPartly: Users and groups sync from Entra ID by SCIM; needs a Tensor license and an Entra Premium subscriptionPartly: Users from an OpenID Connect provider (Azure AD as example) are synchronized; Ultimate-Cloud onlyPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Entra ID user sync is documented for its PSA product, not the RMMPartly: Creates technician and end-user accounts from Entra ID groups through SCIMYes: One-way sync of contacts from Entra ID; continuous sync on the top plan
LDAPNo: NoPartly: Only inside the AD Connector, which takes LDAP identifiers for AD groups; no separate LDAP sign-in statedPartly: LDAP sign-in and role import with periodic sync, Ultimate-Cloud license onlyPartly: Server Pro Basic and up; users are created at first LDAP login; LDAP groups and converting local users not yet supportedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pages

The screen

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Multiple monitorsYes: Yes: switch between monitors in the sessionYes: Switch between the remote monitors or show each in its own windowYes: Switch between the remote monitors from the toolbar; several at once by opening more connectionsYes: Multi-monitor sessions; on Linux Wayland since 1.4.3Partly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Shows all of the remote computer's screens, and can black out the screen and block inputYes: Multi-screen support in remote sessions (its Remote FAQ page does not mention it)Partly: Yes with AnyDesk (Growth and up) or the Splashtop Premium add-on; standard Splashtop shows one monitor at a time
Ctrl+Alt+DelYes: Yes, on WindowsYes: Send Ctrl+Alt+Del from the session toolbarYes: A hotkey sends Ctrl+Alt+Del to the remote device; Windows onlyPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Sends Ctrl+Alt+Del; on Remote Control on Demand it needs elevated privilegesYes: A toolbar action in the remote session sends Ctrl+Alt+DelYes: A Windows action in the Splashtop and AnyDesk sessions
The Windows sign-in screenYes: Yes, with nobody signed inPartly: Policy setting gives full access to partners connecting at the Windows login screen; off until activatedYes: Unattended access connects before sign-in or when the system is lockedPartly: Windows service reaches the sign-in screen; Linux needs X11 or a Wayland preview; macOS not statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: States access to macOS computers with no signed-in user; a Windows sign-in screen is not statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Splashtop's attended-access setting can connect at the login screen; unattended use there is not stated
ClipboardPartly: Text pasted into the computer through a box; no two-way clipboardYes: Clipboards sync both ways, or paste as simulated keystrokesYes: A session permission synchronizes clipboards; text or files can also be sent from the local clipboardYes: Copy and paste for incoming connections, on by default; file copy and paste tooYes: Clipboard synchronization between client and host exists; an admin policy sets its maximum sizePartly: Pastes the local clipboard into the session as keystrokes; no two-way sharing statedYes: Clipboard synchronized both ways; can be turned off, with a Paste as Keystrokes optionPartly: Copy and paste is a Splashtop Premium setting (paid add-on); Splashtop SOS shares text; plain Splashtop and AnyDesk not stated
Remote printingNo: NoYes: Remote printing, needing a print driver; not on Windows 11 on ARMYes: Remote printing is included in paid licenses; not in the free versionPartly: Remote printer for incoming connections, Windows computers onlyPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Remote printing is listed among the technician's session actionsPartly: Remote print is in Splashtop Premium, a paid add-on
Session recordingNo: No, by design: the screen is never storedYes: Policies record incoming or outgoing sessions, saved locally or uploaded to SFTP (Tensor)Yes: Session recording is listed from Standard up; started automatically or from the toolbarYes: Sessions can be recorded; incoming and outgoing sessions can be set to record automaticallyPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Records remote control sessions, shared and private, for Windows agents onlyYes: Optional recording, with an automatic option; files are saved on the technician's own computerPartly: AnyDesk has screen recording; Splashtop only with the Premium add-on
Sessions start view-onlyYes: Yes: taking control is a separate, logged stepPartly: An admin can set Confirm all or View and show; the default level is not statedPartly: Default profile allows control; a Screen Sharing profile is view-only and can be chosenPartly: Not by default (view-only default is off); a setting makes view-only the starting state for each peerPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: A view-only setting blocks the technician's keyboard and mouse; that a session starts view-only is not statedPartly: Not stated on its pages
The person at the computer can switch it offYes: Yes: the ORelay window on the computer shows what remote users may do, and any of it can be switched offYes: With Confirm all, the person at the computer approves each feature before it is usedYes: An Accept Window appears by default and permission profiles are set at the remote computerYes: Person at the computer can require a click to accept and switch off input, clipboard, file transfer and recordingPartly: Support sessions: the sharer sees who connects, approves with Share and can Stop Sharing; PIN access is not describedPartly: Remote Control on Demand asks the user to start a session with user or elevated access; for installed agents not statedPartly: Administrators can require the end user to approve a session; the person seeing and switching off remote rights is not describedPartly: Technician can require the user to accept (AnyDesk on servers is always unattended); no user-side permission switch is stated
Blank the physical screenYes: Yes, on Windows and Mac; the blanked screen says who is connectedYes: A security image hides the remote screen during a session; needs a licenseYes: Privacy mode hides the remote screen; both ends must allow itPartly: Privacy mode blanks the local display during a session on Windows and macOS; the computer can switch it offPartly: Admin policy "curtain mode" hides the screen from someone at the host; Windows Professional, Ultimate, Enterprise or Server onlyYes: Can block the remote user's keyboard and mouse and blank the remote displayYes: Blank screen option blanks connected monitors during a session (Windows 10 20H1 or later, administrator rights)Partly: Not stated on its pages

Beyond the screen

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Terminal, or one command with its outputYes: Yes: bash, sh, PowerShell or cmd, or one command with its output, in the browser and the appsPartly: Remote terminal to the Windows command prompt without a desktop session; needs Easy Access, Windows 10 1809 or laterPartly: Remote Shell opens a terminal on Linux devices only (AnyDesk 8.0.0 or later, display server needed)Yes: Terminal sessions for incoming connections, on by default; can be disabled or allowed per role in Server ProPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Terminal and PowerShell commands from the mobile app; a web or desktop terminal is not statedYes: Remote command line: PowerShell, CMD and shell on Windows, macOS and LinuxYes: CMD, PowerShell, Terminal and SSH on devices, by role permission
Scripts across many computersPartly: Quick fixes run on one computer or several at once; no script library yetPartly: Script execution on many devices at once, Windows scripts only; Linux and macOS scripts run on one device; Monitoring add-onPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Built-in scripts (Bash, PowerShell, VBScript) and your own script libraryYes: Script library (PowerShell, Batch, shell, JavaScript, VBScript) run across devices and organizationsYes: Script library and shared script library; PowerShell, BAT and SH, run on one or many devices
Scheduled tasksYes: Yes: timer or cron, with every run’s output; Pro and abovePartly: Patch deployment and backups run on schedules; scripts run on demand; general scheduled jobs not statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Scripts and tasks run on a schedule (occurrence, days and start time) or on demandYes: Scripts and tasks can be scheduled; a Create Scheduled Task device action runs at a set time or intervalYes: Automation profiles run scripts, patching and installs on a schedule
Software inventoryYes: Yes: every installed program, searchable, with a CSV export; refresh on Pro and abovePartly: Software list per device with CSV export, in Asset Management, sold as an add-onPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Software list per device and an organization report of name, version, publisher; export of it is not statedYes: Software inventory report: search what is installed on one or more devices
Patch managementNo: NoPartly: Windows and macOS updates plus third-party apps, in the Remote Management add-onPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Patches Windows, Mac and Linux plus more than 300 third-party titles, with approval and schedulingYes: Operating system and third-party application patching with custom scan and deployment schedulesYes: Manual and automated patching on Windows, macOS and Linux; an 'Update all via WinGet' option is mentioned
Power actionsYes: Yes: shut down, restart, sleep, hibernate, lock, sign out; now or up to an hour laterPartly: Reboot (normal or safe mode), lock now and sign out in a session; shutdown and scheduling not statedPartly: Restart, lock and sign-out of the remote user from the session toolbar; shutdown, sleep and scheduling not statedPartly: Remote restart can be allowed; shutdown, sleep, lock and scheduling are not statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Lock, log off, restart, shut down, suspend and hibernate from the app; scheduling not statedPartly: Restart now or on a schedule; Lock System inside a remote session; shutdown, sleep and hibernate are not listedPartly: Log out, restart and shut down, can be scheduled for later; sleep, hibernate and lock are not stated
Wake-on-LANNo: NoYes: Wake a sleeping or powered-off computer; Macs only from sleepYes: Wake-on-LAN in paid licenses; Windows, Intel Mac and Linux; another AnyDesk device on that network must be onlinePartly: Only for computers found by LAN discovery, when the hardware supports itPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Wake on WAN; needs a wired adapter, BIOS support and UDP port 9 forwarded behind a routerPartly: Wake-on-LAN from the console; the sleeping device must be Windows, on wired Ethernet, with a Windows agent on the same subnetYes: Yes, Windows only, sent by another agent on the same subnet

Files

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Browse folders without a sessionYes: Yes, from the browser and the phonePartly: Separate file-transfer connection mode, no desktop session; folder browsing not statedYes: A File Manager session runs without the desktop viewYes: File transfer runs as its own session, apart from the desktopPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: File Browser shows the target computer's folders and files and previews them, once switched on in policy or at the agentYes: A File Browser remote tool, beside Remote Registry and Task ManagerYes: Remote file explorer in the device's Manage menu: search, upload, download, rename, delete; Pro plan can view and search only
Upload and downloadYes: Yes, from the browser or the phone, over the agent’s own connectionYes: File transfer window in a session; File Box shares files with the end userYes: File transfer and a File Manager to upload and download; File transfer is listed from Standard upYes: File transfer in both directionsPartly: ChromeOS kiosk devices only, switched on by an admin; a host policy for file transfer exists, its reach is not describedYes: Background file transfer to and from the remote computer during a remote control sessionYes: Upload and download files in a remote sessionPartly: Upload and download on Growth, Power and Superpower; Pro can only view and search; one device at a time, no folders
Files kept in the serviceYes: Yes: copies kept in ORelay per plan; the vault encrypts files into your own Google Drive or OneDrivePartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Managed Files keeps files centrally to push to devices, encrypted at rest and in transit; not a copy of a computer's own filesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pages
Size limitsPartly: 10 GB per file sent to a computer; stored files 1 GB on Free, 25 GB on Pro, 100 GB on MSPNo: No stated limit; its page says it imposes no strict file size limitsPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: File Transfer Automation to devices is limited to 200 MB; no limit is stated for transfers inside a remote sessionYes: 100 MB per file; transfer cap per account a month: 15 GB Growth, 50 GB Power, 100 GB Superpower

Monitoring

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Processor, memory, disk, networkYes: Yes, live, and buffered on the computer while the service is unreachablePartly: Monitoring checks CPU, memory and services; history over time not stated; add-onPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Real-time CPU temperature, network and memory readings are stated; disk and a history over time are notPartly: Processor, memory, disk and network indicators per device; graphs over time are not describedPartly: Tracks CPU, RAM, disk and temperatures; historical trend dashboards and capacity reports are on higher plans
Alerts on a reading, or a computer going quietYes: Yes: a reading over a threshold for a duration, or a computer offline; severity, acknowledge, historyPartly: Threshold alerts from monitoring policies, with Detected and Resolved states; Device Monitoring add-onPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Notifications on low memory, processor use above or below normal, closed ports and servicesYes: Conditions on CPU, memory, disk and Device Down with thresholds and durationsYes: Threshold profiles with Information, Warning and Critical severity, per customer, folder or device
Where alerts goYes: Yes: e-mail, webhook (Discord, Slack or JSON), ntfy and the app; no SMSPartly: E-mail to company members and push to the mobile app; no webhook, chat or SMS statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Slack, PagerDuty, Autotask and Zendesk tickets, and mobile app alertsYes: Slack, Microsoft Teams, PagerDuty, webhook, e-mail and SMS (SMS only where enabled)Partly: E-mail, mobile app and console sound alerts, and tickets; no built-in SMS; webhooks only on ticket events, top plan
Network devices (SNMP)No: NoPartly: Monitoring is said to cover network devices; SNMP not statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: SNMP monitoring of network devices such as routers, switches and printersYes: SNMP monitoring of firewalls, switches and routers through a collector on the networkYes: SNMP, HTTP, TCP and generic devices, through a designated Windows monitoring agent on the same network

Deployment

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Silent installersYes: Yes: Windows MSI, Mac pkg, Debian and RPM packagesPartly: MSI package for mass deployment is part of the Corporate license and aboveYes: Windows silent switch and MSI; macOS .pkg installer; Linux .deb and .rpm repositoriesPartly: Windows MSI with silent options; scripts for macOS and Linux; no pkg/deb/rpm silent options describedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Windows MSI installs silently with /qn; silent install for Mac and Linux packages is not statedYes: MSI (silent by default), PKG and DEB commands in the deployment guide; RPM on its Linux install pagePartly: Silent on Windows (MSI as SYSTEM) and macOS (pkg); Linux silent install not stated
Many computers at onceYes: Yes: enrolment keys, each computer with its own certificate; Pro and abovePartly: Mass deployment by MSI script, Corporate license and abovePartly: MSI mass deployment and license-key registration by command line on Advanced and up; no enrolment key statedYes: Custom client generator (Server Pro) or deployment scripts that apply a config stringPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Network-discovery mass deployment, and MSI installers made per organization, site and groupYes: Installer Management makes a unique token for each machine in a bulk deploymentYes: Installer assigned to a customer; roll out with Group Policy, Intune or another tool
Intune, Jamf, Group Policy, AnsibleYes: Yes: Intune, Configuration Manager, Group Policy, Jamf Pro, Kandji and Ansible kits, made in the browserPartly: Guides for Intune and Jamf Pro; deployment guide is for Premium, Corporate and TensorPartly: Intune and MDM deployment described, Group Policy on Advanced; Jamf, Configuration Manager, Ansible not namedPartly: MSI deployable by Group Policy, Intune or an RMM; no Jamf, Configuration Manager or Ansible kits documentedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Guides for Intune and Group Policy; Jamf covers only a profile; Configuration Manager and Ansible not documentedYes: Group Policy and Intune (Windows) and Jamf or Intune (macOS) are named; Configuration Manager and Ansible are not named
The agent updates itselfYes: Yes, signed updatesYes: Update policy installs new versions automatically on full and Host clientsPartly: Standard clients can update automatically; custom clients cannotPartly: Windows only (1.4.6 or later): a setting downloads and installs the latest release from GitHub; off by defaultPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: NinjaOne pushes agent updates itselfYes: Agents update automatically
Signed installersYes: Yes: Windows signed, Mac notarized, Linux packages signedYes: Software is signed with DigiCert code signing; macOS notarization not statedPartly: Windows client signed by AnyDesk Software GmbH; macOS custom clients notarized only if an option is onPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: Windows and macOS agents and applications are code-signed; notarization not statedPartly: Its deployment scripts check the installer's digital signature; Authenticode and Apple notarization are not namedPartly: Not stated on its pages
Linux desktops, including WaylandYes: Yes: X11 and Wayland; under GNOME the person at the computer approves the first sessionPartly: Linux desktop supported; Wayland is experimental, X11 advised for incoming connectionsPartly: Linux is supported; under Wayland only outgoing sessions work, incoming need XorgPartly: Wayland supported with limits; login screen needs X11, or an unattended Wayland preview on x86_64 Debian/UbuntuPartly: Linux host supported through a 64-bit Debian package; Wayland is not mentionedPartly: Linux agents (deb, rpm and others) are offered; remote control is stated for Windows and macOS only; Wayland not statedPartly: Linux remote control on desktop distributions, attended and unattended; Wayland not mentionedPartly: Linux desktops can be reached from Windows or Mac on X11; Wayland is not supported

Security

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
EncryptionYes: Yes: mutual TLS 1.3 between each computer and the service; HTTPS for the browser and the appsYes: Mutually authenticated TLS 1.3, AES-256-GCM session data, end-to-end encrypted sessionsYes: TLS 1.3 with 256-bit AES transport encryption and RSA 2048 key exchange; no end-to-end claim madeYes: End-to-end for ID-based sessions when clients hold the server public key (NaCl-based); TLS version not statedPartly: Sessions are stated as fully encrypted; the network guide names WebRTC; TLS version and end-to-end claim are not statedPartly: Says end-to-end encryption, AES-256 with RSA key exchange; TLS version and mutual TLS not statedYes: TLS 1.2 or 1.3 in transit, AES-256 at rest; Remote sessions use X25519, XSalsa20 and Poly1305; mutual TLS not mentionedYes: TLS 1.2+ agent to servers; Splashtop sessions TLS and 256-bit AES, called end-to-end in its Work From Home FAQ
The screen never stored, keys never loggedYes: Yes: the screen is never recorded and what you type is never loggedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Backend is kept out of session video and keystrokes; sessions can still be recorded, on the technician's computerPartly: Not stated on its pages
SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAANo: None yetYes: Audits against ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2 and 3, TISAX, ISO 9001; HIPAA-compliant data centersPartly: Says it complies with GDPR; SOC 2, ISO 27001 and HIPAA not stated on pages readNo: Claims no attestation; says self-hosting is a deployment control, not a certificationPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Names SOC 2 and ISO for its data centre; no attestation of Pulseway itself, no HIPAA or GDPRYes: SOC 2 (report under NDA), ISO 27001:2022, FedRAMP, HIPAA and GDPR alignment through contract termsYes: SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001 certified; its security page also names HIPAA compliance options
Where data is heldPartly: United States; no choice of regionPartly: Servers holding sensitive data are in Germany or Austria; no region choice statedPartly: On-Premises keeps data in your own network; region choice for the cloud not statedPartly: Self-hosted: you choose where it runs. Location of its public servers is not statedPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Cloud servers are in US East Coast data centres; a self-hosted Team server exists (FAQ); region choice not statedYes: Held in AWS in a region the customer chooses; its sub-processor list names USA, Canada, Germany and AustraliaPartly: Held in United States and EU data centres, built on Azure; choosing a region is not stated

Business

WhatORelayTeamViewerAnyDeskRustDeskChrome Remote DesktopPulsewayNinjaOneAtera
Pricing modelYes: A flat price per plan: Free, Pro $20, MSP $150, Enterprise $500 a monthYes: Per licensed user with concurrent channels and device limits; add-ons by endpoint; Tensor by quoteYes: Per connection: Standard $49.90 a month for 1, Advanced $111.90 for 2, Ultimate by quote; billed annuallyYes: Server Pro by login user and device: $11.88/mo (1 user, 20 devices), $23.88/mo (10 users, 100), billed annually; OSS freePartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Comparison tables show $27/month with no unit; no price list (pricing page leads to a demo); Pro plan: up to 50 endpoints (FAQ)Yes: Per endpoint: from $1.50 a month at 10,000 endpoints to $3.75 at 50 or fewer, by region and productsYes: Per technician, unlimited endpoints: IT teams $149 to $219 a month, MSPs $129 to $209 a month; monthly or annual billing
Trial or free planYes: Yes: a free plan of 5 computers, with no time limitYes: 14-day trial of all features; 30-day add-on trials; free plan for personal, non-commercial use onlyYes: Business trial offered (length not stated); free version for private use only, not for businessPartly: Free self-hosted server (Server OSS) with no limits stated; no self-serve Server Pro trial, email for termsPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: A free trial is offered on its comparison pages; length and limits not stated, and its trial link now leads to a demo requestYes: 14-day free trial; no free plan statedYes: 30 days, no card; most features, but API access and SSO only after upgrading to a paid plan
Monthly or annualYes: Yes: monthly, or yearly at ten months’ worth; cancel any timeNo: Annual subscriptions only; renews every 12 months, cancel 28 days before the term endsNo: All plans are billed yearly; the monthly figure is the annual price divided by twelveNo: Annual payment only, no auto-renewalPartly: Not stated on its pagesPartly: Says "no contracts" on one page; its Atera page says an offer applies to annual or multi-year contractsPartly: Monthly or annual billing; month-to-month on a case-by-case basis, discounted rates may need a commitmentYes: Monthly plans cancel at any time; annual plans end with the subscription period
SupportYes: Yes: e-mail and phone, by the people who build itYes: Live chat (English 24/5), phone and support requests for licensed users; paid Premium support with an SLAPartly: Tickets and live chat on Standard and up; phone support on Advanced and UltimatePartly: Community support on the free plan; dedicated support with paid plansPartly: A help forum and the Help Center community are named; e-mail, chat and phone support are not describedYes: Phone for North America, APAC and EMEA, contact form, help centre and community forum; cost not statedYes: Free and unlimited support; help tickets by e-mail or in the console; phone and chat not statedYes: 24/7 chat and e-mail for every customer; phone not stated
API and webhooksPartly: Webhooks for alerts; the viewers’ REST API is not yet documented for othersYes: Web API (REST, OAuth 2.0) for users, groups, sessions, reports, monitoring and patch management; webhooks not mentionedYes: REST API for account data and session history on Standard and above; webhooks not statedYes: Server Pro only: REST API with tokens made in the web console, plus Python command-line scriptsPartly: Not stated on its pagesYes: REST API v3 with notification webhooks and device webhook commandsYes: Public API with OAuth 2.0, and webhook resourcesYes: API with tokens over HTTPS (not in the trial); webhooks on ticket events on the top plan (Superpower)

ORelay’s column was checked against the product on October 28, 2026. The others’ pages were read on 2026-10-28 (TeamViewer), 2026-10-28 (AnyDesk), 2026-10-28 (RustDesk), 2026-10-28 (Chrome Remote Desktop), 2026-10-28 (Pulseway), 2026-10-28 (NinjaOne) and 2026-10-28 (Atera). Their names are their owners’ trademarks; none of them is connected with ORelay Studios LLC.

Try ORelay

Free for up to 5 computers, no time limit, nothing to open on your network.